Water company voted down

27 March 2018
Waipa District Council

Waipa District Council will not form a separate company to manage water and wastewater.

Instead the council will continue to independently manage its own water operations.

At a Council meeting this morning, elected members voted 7-6 not to form a shared waters  management company with Hamilton City Council.

Today’s decision echoes one made by the Council in December last year, when Council also voted against it. That vote was also 7-6.

Those who voted against forming a company today were Councillors Hazel Barnes, Vern Wilson, Grahame Webber, Clare St Pierre, Sue Milner, Judy Bannon and Elwyn Andree-Wilson.

Mayor Jim Mylchreest, Bruce Thomas, Liz Stolwyk, Susan O'Regan, Marcus Gower and Andrew Brown did not support the resolution.