Water company submissions close

28 November 2017
Waipa District Council

Formal feedback on a proposal to form a Shared Waters Management Company closed yesterday with 72 submissions received.

Of those submissions, 35 per cent supported Hamilton City and Waipa District Councils forming a non-asset owning council-owned company to provide water, wastewater and stormwater services. Around 60 per cent opposed the proposal, citing a range of reasons. The remaining submitters did not express a preference.

Submissions were received from individual ratepayers as well as organisations including Federated Farmers, Waikato Regional Council, the Local Government Commission and Waters NZ. 

Four submitters have indicated they will present their submission in person to a six-member joint panel. Panel members are Hamilton mayor Andrew King plus Hamilton City councillors Garry Mallet and Dave Macpherson. Waipa District Council is represented by Waipa mayor Jim Mylchreest plus Waipa councillors Bruce Thomas and Clare St Pierre.  Peter Winder will be an independent chair.

The panel will meet to hear and consider all submissions at 1pm on Friday, December 1 at Waipa District Council's Chambers in Te Awamutu. The meeting is open to the public.

Both Councils are expected to make their final decisions on whether or not to form a Shared Waters Management Company before Christmas.