Council supports motion to establish a CCO waters governance group

30 October 2015
Hamilton City Council

Hamilton City Council yesterday voted at a Council meeting to establish a Waters Governance Group. This Group would work through a variety of matters to reach agreement and establish the essential elements that determine how a ratepayer-owned Council Controlled Organisation (CCO) would function if established to manage waters operations across three councils.

The group would consist of three members from each of the Hamilton City Council, Waikato District Council and Waipa District Council. The meeting appointed Mayor Julie Hardaker, Councillors Martin Gallagher and Garry Mallett as Hamilton’s representatives.

Council also agreed to fund $175,000, part of a combined budget of $350,000 for the three-Council group. This funding is to enable the group to work towards a record of agreement between all three councils that will be presented back to each council for consideration before June 2016.

The record of agreement will be publicly available prior to next year's election.

Council voted 9-2 in favour of the resolution, Councillors Dave Macpherson and Martin Gallagher voting against.